A confession and an announcement

A life unexamined

This post is for the January Carnival of Aces, whose theme this month is non-traditional relationship structures: experienced, or wishing for, or theorising about.

I have a confession to make.

When I found out about asexuality, it felt like I’d been freed. I wasn’t strange and broken anymore; I could finally stop stressing about why I wasn’t feeling all these things I felt I was meant to.

But there was also a small part of me that wondered if this meant that I’d never be able to be in a relationship with anyone. That I’d never get to be close to someone, to share in their life in a really substantial way. When I inadvertently came out to my mum a few months ago, I think it was one of the things that crossed her mind as well. After all, we’re taught over and over again from childhood to…

View original post 804 more words

Leave a Reply

